Gluten-free Clafouti for you and me!

I come bearing goods… baked goods. Finally, she bakes!

An unfortunate member of the medical community far in the outskirts of the GTA did his best to crush my spirit last week. Luckily, it wasn’t my first time to the picnic – I am certain that my mix of sarcasm and sunshine will set me right as rain any day now. As a result, I haven’t been able to find quite the right words to describe this humble French classic to you all. Hopefully these will do…

Image

Here is how I gathered des cerises magnifiques:

My neighbour is kind enough to have nursed a cherry tree for pushing on thirty years. I had intended to sign him up for the fruit picking services of the fantastic Not Far From The Tree organization. However, my harrowing school/work schedule meant that we haven’t crossed paths in the late spring. Nonetheless, the neighbour and I decided to put together a decent front against the squirrels who hoard over the jewel tone stone fruit with much revere.

In light of a missed opportunity to connect with the beloved NFFTT I solicited the picking and eating power of my east end and next door neighbours. And so, before collecting what bounty I could muster from the safety of the grass, I enticed a lovely friend into picking alongside me.

That late afternoon we feasted on a fistful of fruit or two.

Image

Despite the heat I turned on the oven in the early morning to bake this clafouti which in classic French cuisine is a term that can only be adorned to the cherry treat. I along with the most of the world have committed sacrilegious acts by using the custard like interior to cozy up to other stone fruit and berries.

Yet Another Gluten Free Clafouti

1/4 cup of organic coconut flour

1/4 cup of organic millet flour

1/4 sweet rice flour

hefty splash of organic almond extract

conservative splash of organic, fair-trade vanilla syrup (similar to extract but without the alcohol)

pinch of salt

1/4 cup of maple syrup from the mother land

4 room temperature eggs

1 and 1/4 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk

2 1/2 – 3 cups of pitted cherries – I don’t believe in cherry pitters, but the kitchen world is filled with nearly useless  I get in there with a paring knife and go to town, it provides an easily accessible mindfulness moment.

Side note: coconut and cherries are naturally best friends in the flavour pairing department, throw an almond in there and we have a party in your mouth.

The good stuff: coconut flour is full of good for you fibre, a load of protein. this dessert is considerable lower on the glycemic index (small spike in blood sugar), as a result we can attribute coconut flour to a great full feeling and less moodiness throughout the day. millet flour with its own soft sweetness lends a bit of a soft crumb to this dessert to combat the slight dense texture of the coconut flour.

Therefore, coconuts & backyard cherries = happy belly times.

Image

Combine the eggs, milk, almond and vanilla syrups, maple syrup, salt, flours into a blender, blitz the goods until uniform custard like consistency forms. 

Find yourself a pie plate ideally. I baked mine in a 9 inch cake pan greased with organic coconut oil. 

Pour a small layer of the custard like mixture on the bottom and let sit for a few minutes until jiggly like jello. Toss the cherries on top and proceed to lovingly smother with the rest of the mixture. 

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 45 minutes to an hour. The crust should be golden and slightly firm to the touch. Allow to cool and serve room temperature. 

Image

Bon appétit!

Image

One thought on “Gluten-free Clafouti for you and me!

Leave a Reply

