Crushing on Cashews.

Despite the soon onslaught of Moustaches, being just two days away from November has me thinking about the Divine Feminine thanks to my dear friend Sarah. Between her DIY bucket list, skipping across the pond to live the expat life and spearheading a virtual book club – our long overdue hangout earlier this month left me with a reinvigorated to find pleasure and purpose in the little things.

Sarah and I - Halloween 2008

Sarah and I, Halloween 2008.

I cook each and every day without fail – no excuses. For the sake of my health and my wallet it just doesn’t make sense for me to eat out on a regular basis. But, I still manage to take the “easy way out” and buy certain things at the grocery store. That got me pondering low effort, high yield possibilities that give the illusion of convenience. Soaking nuts overnight, a blitz in the blender and a press through a sieve. If that’s not easy I don’t know what is.

Sesame, almonds, hazelnuts, cashews, oats, pistachio and the list goes on. There is so much room to play rather than drinking ho-hum cow milk everyday.

Cutting your nut mix with oats is a great way to save on money without compromising on taste and texture.  Making milk is like cooking rice. For each cup of nuts/grains, add two cups of water. In this milk medley the cashews bring a smooth, creamy sweetness and the oats are providing their own soft flavour and some much needed soluble and insoluble fibre to keep this belly sated until snack time. Cashews are bringing the copper (helping stave off anemia), magnesium (for happy muscles and digestion) and trytophan (better sleep and more smiles).

Just when you thought this was autumn free and I wasn’t squirreling away any more apples. Cashews are the seeds from the Cashew Apple.

cashew&oatmilk

milk & jammies.

Inspired by Joy the Baker

Cashew & Oat Milk

1 ½ cups of raw cashews
½ cup of whole gf oats
2 teaspoons of honey
a smattering of cinnamon
3-5 cups of water

Soak your cashews and oats (if you are using rolled) in 4 cups of water overnight or for at least 8 hours.

In the morning pitch them into a colander and run them under water until clear.

Blend with honey, three cups of water and cinnamon.

If you have a nut milk bag now is the time to use it. I used what is likely the second smallest size of sieve and pushed my mixture through it into a bowl. For smoother milk run through the sieve once more before bottling into a mason jar.

I wanted the best bang for my buck so I ran the nut-oat pulp through the blender for a second time with a couple more cups of water and repeated this process.

Keep refrigerated and sealed in an airtight jar. Best enjoyed within 3-4 days.

Tip: Feel free to add in more honey or salt and use it as a scrub in the shower to soften up the odds and ends as we transition seasons.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

