Treat Yo’self – Bittersweet Autumn Salad

For so many people I know, the fall and early winter is all about keeping your head down and working hard. Challenging yourself to meet goals, professionally, personally is an important part of growth, but a surefire way to flirt with burn out. I mentioned in an earlier post about my own burn out in a past job, since then I have gotten better at taking time for myself. This is certainly not a new, but I am finally taking on the treat yo’self attitude that is captured in this great comedic moment.

fika

Rather than making this an annual affair, I decided that I need to date myself at least once a week. Booking yourself in for peaceful solitude is good for the soul.

I live in a big city and we all get caught up from time to time, friends break plans, schedules change – you can either hold off until next time or go do it by yourself.

Spending an afternoon at a café, taking a relaxed long walk, reading a book, baking a batch of cookies are just a few ways that I take time for myself. With all of the shameful news circulating about my city’s mayor, I found myself irritated and a bit stressed. The job hunt, finances, political upheaval, hurried responsibilities and obligations; it was time for me to shut off the world and return to the kitchen.

salad-closeup

I decided to curl up with a warm salad and my new library book. I swear, this maybe one of the best dishes I have made this year. Amongst the bold and beautiful flavours, its playful textures and its combination of bright and softened fall colours – I found a bit of peace.

Tea’s Bittersweet Autumn Salad

1 small sweet potato, scrubbed and dried cut in half length-wise into thick slices

2 tsp garam masala

1 tsp coconut oil

2 big pinches of sea salt

1 small head of radicchio, sliced into thick strips

1 small belgian endive, sliced into thick strips

half of a pomegranate

Coco-orange Dressing

2 tablespoons of coconut oil

half of a large orange juiced

2 tablespoons of raw apple cider vinegar

1 teaspoon of spicy mustard

2 big pinches of sea salt

black pepper to taste

This recipe was loosely inspired by Gluten Free Girl‘s use of raddichio, endive and sweet potato.

Preheat oven to 400 Celsius.

Toss salt, garam masala, coconut oil with sweet potato slices – place on baking tray and into oven. Cook for 20-25 minutes until fork tender.

While the sweet potato is cooking, cut up radicchio and endive into slices and place in salad bowl.

Add all dressing ingredients into a small mason jar or a small bowl and whisk until combined. Set aside.

Once slightly cooled, add roasted sweet potatoes to salad bowl and toss with dressing. Sprinkle Pomegranate seeds to garnish.

Serves 1.

Tip: Feel free to double this recipe and reserve the other half with the dressing on the side for lunch the next day.

Enjoy.

And don’t forget – treat yo’self!

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

