Movement: Hurry Up & Wait.

I think we are all starting to feel it here in the Northern Hemisphere; darkness at 5pm softly nudges us indoors to blankets and comfort foods. My roommate noted this past weekend that with winter on the horizon she is more likely to stay at home during weeknight evenings. It just feels natural, doesn’t it? I’ve been slowly changing my daily routine by grabbing warm drinks rather than cold smoothies. Even with my goals of movement this month, I am going to allow myself to indulge in rolling myself up with a duvet and a good book. Comfort is key for acclimatizing to the colder, darker seasons.

Update: As of week closing November 10th – I have met my goal attending four yoga classes! This week was very hectic and I am very proud of myself for building in the time for myself. Half of my classes have been Restorative/Yin classes to help gently ease my body back into building strength after surgery.

My weekday sessions have taken place during the dark evenings, so I have been trying to come up with comforting hot drinks that doubles as a healthy post-workout recovery option. Flashes of pop culture suggestions bounced around my mind; chocolate milk, protein shakes, gatorade, bananas.

Bananas! One of the more popular ways of getting in some potassium, which compromises one of the minerals in our body’s electrolytes. I find that I am ravenous after yoga especially, so this warm smoothie is a great way to get a bit punch of fiber and boost my blood sugar.

The real secret weapon in this smoothie is the green rooibos tea. It is a great way to replace your electrolytes after coconut water, as it is jammed to the brim with healing properties. I will get into more detail on the specifics of rooibos in another post, but for now I account for a few of its benefits.

For instance, it can help lower your risk of hypertension, is an anti-spasmodic, is high in antioxidants and caffeine free. I find that the traditional red variety has a deeper caramel-like flavour; green rooibos is lighter and grassier tasting, and decidedly more close in flavour to a green tea varietal.

not so pretty - but terribly tasty.

not so pretty – but terribly tasty.

Banana Nut Booster

2 tsp maca
1 tsp goji berries
1tsp ground flax
3 teaspoons of grated ginger, skin on
2-3 teaspoons of lemon juice
2 tablespoons of walnuts or pecans
1 small pinch of cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon of cinnamon
2 dates, pitted & softened in warm water if needed
1 spotted, organic banana [fair trade if you can find it]
1 small apple, or half of a large apple (sweet, softer fleshed apple such as a Mac), or alternatively 1/3 cup of applesauce.
1 cup steeped green or red rooibos tea
½ cup of warm water

Blend all ingredients together until creamy and smooth. For a weaker blender, use two steps: add walnuts and apples with warm water and blend on high, then add the remainder of ingredients and blend a second time.

Tip: Short on ingredients, feel free to leave out the spices and superfoods, it will still be tasty.

Enjoy immediately.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

