Latkes and Letting Yourself Win

latkes

Even the best laid plans run into roadblocks. I started my celebration early this month and got quite smug with myself after a barrefit class. Of all things I threw my hip and lower back out trying to wrangle a sick cat into a carrier for a vet visit. It’s funny how delicate and fleeting the body is even when you are admist feeling on top of your game. Four days of committed movement is a huge feat for me considering walking around the block or a casual half hour on a stationery bike was a big deal just a month and a half ago. Last week I hit up three out of my allotted four movement classes in the face of a silly yet painful injury. I spent hours beating myself up this week thinking I should have pushed myself more, feeling even a bit of shame knowing that I didn’t meet my goal. There are so many colloquial phrases to draw from here, for me “you are your own worst enemy” flashed to the fore. To say the least, I lost sight of being gentle and realistic with myself. Even with all of the planning in the world, life will still throw you a curveball.

Thankfully I had a very wise man at my side when I tried to awkwardly step into my athletic gear and hobble out the door. His words quickly silenced my frantic thoughts – “sometimes you need to let yourself win”.

Adjusting your attitude and giving yourself room to reshape what a success looks like given your circumstances may be the most important gold star up for grabs in the goal setting game. Of course I am not suggesting you fall prey to laziness or the glorification of being busy doing other things. Instead I am suggesting that you sit and feel what is going on with your body or mind and celebrate taking great loving care in yourself.

Latkes are a fun way to get out some frustration and feed that grungy part of you that wants nothing more than a crunchy, starchy item. But we are going to work for it by grating our own potatoes, squeezing the daylights out of our veggie mixture and stirring with vigour. This is my take on a Thursday Throwback, an awkward bow and a tipped cap to my Scandinavian and Eastern European roots.

Sometimes breakfast for dinner is a win. 

cookinglatkez

Throwback Thursday Latkes

1 ½ cups of grated red potato
3 tablespoons of yellow onion, grated
1-2 cloves of minced garlic
2 teaspoons of salt
1 teaspoon of pepper
1 large egg
4 tablespoons of chickpea flour
2 tablespoons of potato starch
possible add ins: fresh rosemary, thyme or oregano, fresh green onions
grapeseed oil or ghee to grease the pan

Preheat oven to 375 Celsius

Grate onions and potato, place into a clean dishtowel or cheesecloth and wring moisture out. The drier your mix the crispier the latke.

Crack in egg and stir to incorporate.

Mix in starch and flour along with seasoning and herbs if using.

Shape into small discs or oil up a heated, oven safe pan and make a giant latke. Place into oven and flip half way through until brown and crispy on both sides. Depending on whether you choose to make a giant latke or several small ones this will take anywhere from 8-15 minutes total. Give your latke a poke and make sure that it has firmed up all the way through.

Dress with homemade applesauce, an over easy or poached egg, Salvadorian crema, full fat organic yogurt, hummus, baba ghanoush.

You get the idea, latkes are every condiments’ best friend.

Tip: You can make these latkes much healthier by swapping for a sweet potato, parsnip, carrot. Any starchy squash will work beautifully.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

