Sunday Pancakes & Small Successes

1459891_673329207294_1919035704_n

This week hasn’t been an easy one. At the eleventh hour I received notice that I had qualified for a funding opportunity that was completely out of my wheel house amongst a laundry list of other last minute items. Rather than clearing my schedule, I decided to try and do it all. Today is a true practice of managing my stress and auto-immune diseases during real life circumstances.

If it wasn’t for my month of dedicated movement and Melissa Ramos’ 14 day Stress Detox I decided to take on,  I am sure that I would have had a bit of a meltdown. Today is the last day to sign up, won’t you join me?

Despite a baking recipe flop, a slight hiatus from blogging, a confused evening out at a Christmas Market and fighting an ear infection  – I refuse to give up because I know I am stronger than how I feel in this moment. As I take on yet another day of research, writing and thankless editing, I am reminded that it is important to see the light at the end of the tunnel and celebrate the small successes on the road to meeting my goals.

Today’s Sunday pancakes are complete with raw local honey, freshly ground flax seed and goji berries – tis the season for boosting the immune system.

Oaty Cakes

1 cup of certified gluten-free oat flour

1 teaspoon to 1 tablespoon of ground flax and goji berries (optional)

1 tsp baking powder

1 large egg, room temperature

½ tsp of sea salt

2 tablespoon of melted butter or coconut oil

1-2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp of vanilla or almond extract

1 heaping tablespoon of local honey

½ cup of milk of your choice, plus a few extra tablespoons

Preheat oven to 200 degrees.

Whisk together all dry ingredients in a bowl, including goji and flax mixture. Add in all wet ingredients and mix to incorporate in a separate bowl.  Create a well in the middle of your dry mixture and add in wet ingredients. Check for consistency, I find that baking with oat flour with success is dependent on how much moisture is already in the air. Play around a little bit, does it need a bit more liquid? Go add some in.

Once just incorporate together mix in your melted coconut oil or butter. Allow to sit for a few minutes while you heat a pan on medium add in a bit of oil to coat the pan.

Tip: Cooking with cast iron can be helpful here. We have a circle grooved pan that is great for pancakes. It is really important to have a well-oiled pan or else these pancakes will stick.

Things to look for: remember to wait for bubbles popping and a firmness to appear around the edges before flipping.

Add pancakes on an oven safe plate and keep warm until ready to serve.

Top with coconut yogurt and raspberries. Apple butter and almond butter would be super tasty too!

Sunday morning pancakes are nothing without some tea, I love mine with a side of oolong tea.

Makes enough for 1 very hungry person.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

